An esteemed friend of mine recently came up with the brilliant challenge of selecting our “Desert Island Poems” that is ten poems of reasonable length (so no Paradise Lost) including at least one in translation or a language other than English. We disliked each other’s choices and we never finished the conversation, but I loved the idea and thought I’d put it up here.
The selection process was difficult, as I imagine it is for Desert Island Discs and raised several questions. Am I choosing my favourite poems, or those I think are the best? Who am I trying to impress? Am I attempting somehow to represent myself or just choosing my favourites? It’s made me wonder how many people come off Desert Island Discs cursing themselves for their choices. I don’t even think I’ve managed to come up with my own definitive version, but I hope I’ve struck a balance.
By the way, the point of posting this is to get other people to put up their own selections so I can admire them. So come on you horrible English teachers who tell me you like my blog: stop reading, sign in and get writing. (Love you).

And don’t feel you have to choose ten. Whatever you feel like.

1. Kubla Khan by Samuel Taylor Coleridge

Read this out loud slowly and savour the sounds. ‘Fragment’, indeed. It’s perfect!

2. The Jumblies by Edward Lear

A masterpiece of travel literature and because poetry doesn’t have to be serious.

3.  O where are you going?  by W H Auden 

In case the island’s full of noises and I need to be brave.

4. My Last Duchess  by Robert Browning

Get someone to read this to you. A word perfect portrayal of an absolute monster  .

5. The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock by T. S. Eliot 

I’ll need humour and something to think about on the island.

6.  Catullus 63/ “The Attis Poem” by Catullus  (A Roman)

The worst ‘morning after’ ever? Handy introduction

7. Beeny Cliff by Thomas Hardy

Fell in love with this when I was 16. Can’t read it without crying now.

8. Rain Song by Badr Shakir al- Sayyab

A life-changer. Prepare to be blown away.

9. Ode to a Nightingale by John Keats

Heartbreaking.  Let’s fly away, away…

10. Terence, this is stupid stuff by A. E. Houseman

Poetry or beer when times are tough?

Now I’ve done this, I’m still really dissatisfied: it seems too Romantic and why no female poets? Oh cripes. Am failure.